Review: Dove summer glow (fair to medium skin)

2013-02-25 14.14.23

I never know whether I hate my naturally very pale skin because of my own opinion or that it seems to be the overall view in society today that young women should have a bit of a tan. Every television programme, every magazine and what seems the majority of young women in the street appear to have a tan even if it is minus 2 outside. I have tried on numerous occasions to get a nice, natural looking, fake tan. I can however name many times when this has gone wrong; I have become streaky or very unnaturally orange.

When someone asked me if I was feeling ill because I looked so pale I decided to do something about it and chose to give Dove Summer glow in fair to medium skin a go.  At £4.99 it is in the mid-level price for a gradual tanner, but if it gives me a nice glow and people don’t think I’m ill anymore it is worth it.

It is a gradual self-tanner so the more you use it the more tanned you become. My first impression was that it smells nice, it has a nice somewhat fruity smell not like the off putting biscuity smell that fake tan has. I exfoliated and used a fake tan mit to apply the lotion to try and avoid that streaky look.

The next day I noticed I was looking considerably more tanned to what I did before. No more looking ill.

I liked the result so much that throughout the week I kept applying more and more until I realised that I looked so unnatural, patchy and dirty so I ended up scrubbing my skin so hard, which just resulted in making me look like there was something terribly wrong with my skin.

2013-02-25 14.15.12

I asked a friend who is not as naturally pale as me to give it a go. At first glance she had a nice glow, however close up, especially across her neck it was incredibly patchy.

After I stopped applying the lotion it soon wore off and I was back to my pale self. If you use it for special occasions, exfoliate, use a fake tan mit and don’t go crazy with it, it works and you will have a nice glow. However if you want a darker, year round tan I wouldn’t recommend it.

Overall Rating: 3.5/5

11 thoughts on “Review: Dove summer glow (fair to medium skin)

  1. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your site. You have some really good articles and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some material for your blog in exchange for a
    link back to mine. Please blast me an e-mail if interested.
    Thank you!

  2. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to learn more of your useful information. Thank you for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

  3. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too magnificent. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it smart. I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is really a terrific website.

  4. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog before but after looking at many of the articles I realized it’s new
    to me. Regardless, I’m definitely pleased I came across it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking
    back regularly!

  5. Today, while I was at work, my sister stole my iPad
    and tested to see if it can survive a 25 foot
    drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now broken and she has 83 views.
    I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

Leave a Reply

